Haitink conducts Brahms!

Brahms: Complete Concertos & Symphonies

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Bernard Haitink, conductor

Bernard Haitink conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Brahms’s great orchestral works, including the complete four symphonies. The concertos feature three great soloists: pianist Claudio Arrau, violinist Henryk Szeryng, and cellist János Starker.

While a lot of these performances are older, they established a standard of performance that is worthwhile to re-explore. Over time, some weird and often sloppy playing comes into the performance repertoire, and it is useful and instructional to see how interpreters of the past played some of these cherished masterworks.

The selections are:

Symphonies Nos. 1-4 (Complete)

Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15
Claudio Arrau (piano)
Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor, Op. 102
Henryk Szeryng (violin) & János Starker (cello)

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83
Claudio Arrau (piano)

Variations on a theme by Haydn for orchestra, Op. 56a

Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
Henryk Szeryng (violin)

Serenade No. 1 in D major, Op. 11
Serenade No. 2 in A Major, Op. 16

Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80
Tragic Overture, Op. 81
Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G minor
Hungarian Dance No. 2 in D minor
Hungarian Dance No. 3 in F major
Hungarian Dance No. 4 in B minor
Hungarian Dance No. 5
Hungarian Dance No. 6 in D flat major
Hungarian Dance No. 7

Hungarian Dance No. 8 in A minor
Hungarian Dance No. 9 in E minor

Hungarian Dance No. 10 in F major

Here is Bernard Haitink conducting Brahms:


Tags: Bernard Haitink; Brahms, Symphonies, concerto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *