Harding conducts Schumann!

Homage to Robert Schumann
Live Recording from the Frauenkirche in Dresden, Germany 2010

Here is yet another addition to the fine music available for the 200th anniversary of Schumann’s birth. Between 1844 and 1859 Robert Schumann lived in Dresden where he composed a third of his complete creative output.

This concert offers a wonderful opportunity for Daniel Harding and the Staatskapelle Dresden to introduce three of the most impressive but now too rarely performed works from Schumann’s Dresden period. These compositions are: Overture to Genoveva, Requiem für Mignon, and Nachtlied.

The Rhenish Symphony, composed by Schumann after leaving Dresden blends in perfectly with the other music on the program:

• Genoveva Overture
• Scherzo in G minor
• Abendmusik in B flat major
• Requiem Für Mignon, Op. 98b
• Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97 ‘Rhenish’
• Nachtlied, Op. 96 No. 1

The performers are:

Markus Butter, baritone
Soloists of the Dresden Kreuzchor; MDR Rundfunkchor Leipzig; and the Staatskapelle Dresden, Daniel Harding conducting.

This is really fine music, performed by top notch musicians, and showing us the all too small creative  work of Schumann before his death at age 42.

Here is a video of Schumann’s Symphony No. 3 “Rhenish” with Michael Boder conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *