Hilary Hahn plays Higdon!

Hilary Hahn plays Higdon!

Hilary Hahn is now 30… AND… still doing wonderful, creative things! In this recording she has given us an old masterpiece, coupled with a new concerto by Jenifer Higdon. I like these pairs of works that Hilary Hahn has recently recorded. She’s previously given us Schoenberg with Sibelius, and Mendelssohn coupled with Shostakovich

The Higdon concerto is structured as a three-movement piece. It is quite melodic, and the last movement is especially fast and there are a lot of flying notes and rhythms. The first two movements are slower and more serious. Ms. Higdon won the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for music for this composition. Explore this work, and you’ll enjoy it.



The violin concerto by Tchaikovsky is an established masterpiece. There is a short section in the video below where you can hear Hilary playing on her own, without orchestral accompaniment, and if you listen closely, you may discover some new things about this music that you may have missed earlier.

The CD tracks are:

Jennifer Higdon:

1. Violin Concerto: 1. 1726
2. Violin Concerto: 2. Chaconni
3. Violin Concerto: 3. Fly Forward


4. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: 1. Allegro moderato
5. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: 2. Canzonetta. Andante
6. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: 3. Finale. Allegro vivacissimo

Here is Hilary Hahn talking about this recording:


Tags: Hilary Hahn, Jenifer Higdon, Tchaikovsky, violin concerto, Pulitzer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *