Thielemann’s Beethoven

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7-9


  • Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
  • Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93
  • Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 ‘Choral’

This DVD features the nine Beethoven Symphonies as performed by Christian Thielemann, conducting the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

Included is an hour-long documentary for each symphony where Maestro Thielemann and Joachim Kaiser (a German music critic) discuss and analyze Thielemann’s interpretations, complemented by excerpts from rehearsals as well as by comparisons of Beethoven cycles with Karajan, Bernstein, and others.

Here’s a brief video excerpt of Beethoven’s 7th symphony:

And here’s a trailer for all 9 Beethoven masterpieces:

And finally, watch an interesting interview with Tielemann talking about conductor Herbert von Karajan:

Tags: Beethoven, Christian Thielemann, Beethoven symphonies, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *