Hahn’s Shostakovich

Dmitry Shostakovich Violin Concerto #1

Dmitry Shostakovich had the amazing ability to compose wonderful lyrical music which is filled with great expression. His Violin Concerto number 1, in A-Minor, Op. 99 is no exception. This work opens with a movement titled “Nocturne” which is just such a creation. Violinist David Oistrakh said at the time of the 1955 premiere that the concerto was an innovative work, and remarkable for its ‘surprising seriousness and depth of its artistic content…’

Three additional movements follow; they are:

• Scherzo
• Passacaglia
• Burlesca

Hilary Hahn plays this concerto brilliantly, passionately and with great lyrical and technical excellence. Her virtuosity is clearly seen throughout this piece.

Another treasure on this DVD is the Dvorak Eighth symphony: As interpreted by the Berlin Philharmonic, this symphony emerges as a glowing, dramatic and thoroughly musical performance. Mariss Jansons leads the Berlin players into very fine music making!

Here is a video of a part of the Shostakovich concerto with Hilary Hahn, violin, and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Mariss Jansons:

Tags: Shostakovich violin concerto #1, Dvorak symphony #8, Berlin Philharmonic, Jansons, Hilary Hahn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *