Rachel Barton Pine

Violinist Rachel Barton Pine

Rachel Barton Pine has created another excellent contribution to the world’s CD catalog: an album of Spanish and Latin American music written solely for unaccompanied violin.

The CD is titled “Capricho Latino”, and it offers eight world-premiere recordings: In addition to premieres of works by Roque Cordero, César Espejo, and José White, the CD brings first-time recordings of pieces composed or arranged for Ms. Pine by José Serebrier, Luis Jorge Gonzáles, and Jesús Florido; and two of her own arrangements. The CD ends with a treat for listeners of all ages: Alan Ridout’s “Ferdinand the Bull”, narrated with great affection by Obie and Emmy award winning actor Héctor Elizondo.

Here are the titles of the individual tracks:

1. Suite espanola No. 1, Op. 47: V. Asturias (Leyenda) (arr. R.B. Pine)

2. Rapsodia panamena

3. Balada espanola (arr. J. Florido)

4. Prelude Iberique

5. Emigrantes celtas

6. Terra! A nosa!

7. Violin Sonata No. 6 in E major, Op. 27, No. 6

8. Epitalamio tanguero

9. Etude No. 6

10. Recuerdos de la Alhambra (arr. R. Ricci)

11. Cappriccio: I. Presto

12. Aires de tango

13. Tango-Etude No. 3 (arr. R.B. Pines)

14. Ferdinand

Here is Violinist Rachel Barton Pine performing the 3rd movement of the Violin Sonata by Richard Strauss with pianist Matthew Hagle for the Solti Foundation’s fundraising dinner on November 7, 2007.

And here is Ms. Pine in Amy Beach’s “Romance”:

If you’d like to purchase the “Capricho Latino” CD by Ms. Pine, please click on the image below:

Tags: Rachel Barton Pine, Capricho Latino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *