Shaham’s David

Ferdinand David: Romantic Violin Concerti

Performed by Hagai Shaham

Yes… you want to tell me that I got the first name wrong? You know with certainty that violinist Shaham’s first name is “Gil”???

Well… I’m here to tell you that there are TWO Shaham’s! The one you already know (Gil Shaham), and another one, by the name of Hagai Shaham. More on this below…

Composer Ferdinand David is principally known today as the dedicatee of Mendelssohn’s violin concerto. But in his lifetime he was also celebrated as a composer. His compositions included two symphonies, five violin concertos, a string sextet, quartets, several sets of variations and volumes of studies for violin, choral works and some lieder. His works had considerable success in his lifetime, and their revival reveals highly attractive music of strong accomplishment. Bearing in mind David’s close affinity with Mendelssohn, it is hardly surprising that some of his music has a distinct melodic Mendelssohn character.

Violinist Hagai Shaham performs these works with his usual warmth and excellence; he is ably accompanied by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Martyn Brabbins.

The tracks on this CD are:

1. Allegro (Violin Concerto No. 4 in E major Op 23)
2. Adagio cantabile, non troppo lento
3. Allegretto grazioso
4. Allegro serioso (Violin Concerto No. 5 in D minor Op 35)
5. Adagio
6. Vivace
7. Andante and Scherzo capriccioso Op 16

Here is some more information on Hagai Shaham:



And now, here is Hagai Shaham and the Arpeggione Kammerorchester performing a Hebrew Melody



Tags: Hagai Shaham, Ferdinand David, Concerti

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *