Father and Son

Vladimir and Vovka Ashkenazy: Russian Fantasy

Following their album of French music for two pianos, son and father Vovka and Vladimir Ashkenazy present this interesting program by the great composers of Russia:


  • Prince Igor: Polovtsian Dances
  • Arranged by Vovka Ashkenazy


  • Valse-Fantaisie in B minor for piano, G. vi193
  • Arranged for two pianos by Vovka Ashkenazy


  • A Night on the Bare Mountain (piano version)
  • Arranged by Vovka Ashkenazy


  • Suite No. 1 for Two Pianos, Op. 5


  • Fantasy in A minor Op. post.

Three of the works have been arranged by Vovka Ashkenazy himself, including Mussorgsky’s Night On The Bald Mountain and the album’s virtuosic finale, Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances from his opera Prince Igor. Vovka Ashkenazy’s two-piano arrangement of Glinka’s Valse-fantaisie is itself based on Sergei Lyapunov’s arrangement for piano four hands.

CD to be released 11/22/2011

Here is a video of Johannes Brahms’ Piano concerto n°1 in D minor, op.15, 1st movement; performed by Vladimir Ashkenazy, with the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Carlo Maria Giulini

And here is Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition


Tags: Vladimir Ashkenazy, Rachmaninoff, Vovka, Russian Fantasy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *