Gewandhaus plays Beethoven

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 & Overtures



  • Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete)
  • The Creatures of Prometheus Overture, Op. 43
  • Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72b
  • Fidelio Overture Op. 72c
  • Coriolan Overture, Op. 62
  • Egmont Overture, Op. 84
  • The Ruins of Athens Overture, Op. 113
  • Zur Namensfeier overture, Op. 115
  • König Stephan Overture, Op. 117

Performed by Katerina Beranova (soprano), Lilli Paasikivi (alto), Robert Dean Smith (tenor) & Hanno Müller-Brachmann (bass), with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, conducted by Riccardo Chailly

This complete cycle of Beethoven’s nine Symphonies is a landmark event for Maestro Chailly, and for the Gewandhausorchester, where he has been Kapellmeister since 2005.
These acclaimed performances were recorded live in the Gewandhaus concert hall over the last three years, in preparation for the highly-anticipated complete cycles that Maestro Chailly and the orchestra will give in several major European cities in October and November 2011 – performances which will provide the platform for launching these important new recordings.
The cycle showcases the sensitivity and musicality of the legendary Gewandhaus Orchestra, and their ability to portray the development of the composer from his Symphony #1, all the way through the revolutionary 3rd 7th, and finally the Ninth.

This 5-CD set of the nine Symphonies also includes selected Beethoven Overtures, and comes for an initial period in substantial and luxurious packaging, comprising a hard-back book with 5 internal CD wallets, all contained within an outer slipcase.

Here are some Press comments:

“His Beethoven represents a confrontation of tradition…with innovative ideas…From the outset, it is clear that Chailly’s Beethoven will be an exhilarating adventure: closely observing the once-controversial metronome markings, he conducts the fast movements of the C and D major symphonies with Haydnesque wit and brio…The breathtaking finale of No 8 is the most exciting I have heard on disc.”
…………………………Sunday Times, 23rd October 2011

“This is above all, an explosively swift cycle. Chailly is utterly faithful to Beethoven’s metronome markings…but the tautness of the playing, the definition of its detail – especially from the woodwind – and the phenomenal range of dynamics the Gewandhaus Orchestra has at its command mean that weight and drama are always available to Chailly…The result is a Beethoven cycle that’s up there with the best modern-orchestra versions of recent times”
………………………….The Guardian, 3rd November 2011

Here is Riccardo Chailly Discussing Beethoven Symphonies 1-3



And now here is Riccardo Chailly Discussing Beethoven Symphonies 4-6


And finally, here’s a discussion of the 7th to the Ninth:



Tags: Riccardo Chailly, Beethoven, Gewandhaus Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *