Mahler’s Lied

Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde

  • Performed by Jane Henschel (mezzo-soprano) and Gregory Kunde (tenor), with the Houston Symphony, conducted by Hans Graf

In 1907 Gustav Mahler suffered a series of severe losses:After many years of criticisms and severe attacks by the Press, he resigned his position as Director of the Court Opera in Vienna. After his elder daughter Maria died, he himself received the diagnosis of a severe heart condition. During the summer of 1908, Mahler sketched “Das Lied von der Erde” (The Song of the Earth), a ‘symphony for two vocal soloists and orchestra’. The texts, taken from Hans Bethge’s “The Chinese Flute”, are concerned with the themes of transience and loss, culminating in the overwhelming Der Abschied (The Farewell).

Here are the Lieder titles:

1. “Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde” (“The Drinking Song of Earth’s Misery”)
2. “Der Einsame im Herbst” (“The lonely one in Autumn”)
3. “Von der Jugend” (“Of Youth”)
4. “Von der Schönheit” (“Of Beauty”)
5. “Der Trunkene im Frühling” (“The drunken man in Spring”)
6. “Der Abschied” (“The Farewell”)

Here is an excellent recording of this music


And here is a wonderful interpretation by Janet Baker of Mahler’s “Der Abschied” (1977)


Tags: Gustav Mahler, Lied von der Erde, Houston Symphony, Hans Graf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *