Genius of Debussy and Ravel

Arcanto String Quartet

  • Debussy:String Quartet Op. 10, in G-Minor
  • Dutilleux: Ainsi la nuit (Such is the night)
  • Ravel:String Quartet in F-Major

Performed by the Arcanto Quartet

Their members are:
• Antje Weithaas, Violin
• Daniel Sepec, Violin
• Tabea Zimmermann, Viola
• Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello

On this CD, the Arcanto Quartet performs three French String Quartets, all by composers who wrote little chamber music. Debussy and Ravel composed their only string quartet at the start of their careers, whereas Dutilleux wrote Ainsi la nuit shortly before his 60th birthday.

The single string quartet is, thus, something of a French tradition.

I was unable to locate videos by the Arcanto group; Here, however, is a wonderful video of their violist, Tabea Zimmmerman:

Listen now as Tabea Zimmermann performs the Penderecki Concerto for Viola


And here she is again, playing the Robert Schumann Marchenbilder op 113


Tags: Arcanto quartet, Tabea Zimmermann, Debussy, Ravel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *