Salzburg concert

Salzburg Opening Concert 2010

The opening concert of the Salzburg Festival, for many regarded as the world’s most renowned music festival, is by tradition a high-profile event.
In 2010 the Festival celebrated its 90th anniversary and the 50th anniversary of the Great Festival Hall.

The selections performed at the concert were:


  • Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58

Daniel Barenboim (piano)

  • Notations


  • Te Deum in C major, WAB 45

Soloists were Dorothea Roschmann (soprano), Elīna Garanča (mezzo), Klaus Florian Vogt (tenor), René Pape (bass) and the Chorus of the Vienna State Opera

Performed by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Daniel Barenboim

In 2010 Barenboim also celebrated his 60th anniversary onstage, and also appeared as a soloist and conductor of Beethoven’s lyrical Fourth Piano Concerto.

Bruckner´s poignant Te Deum was performed by a quartet of world-class singers.

This DVD was released on August 30, 2011

Here is the Beethoven Piano Concerto 4 op. 58, first movement; Performed by Daniel Barenboim (pianist & conductor) and the Staatskapelle Berlin.


And here is part of the Bruckner “Te Deum”, as conducted by Daniel Barenboim:



Tags: Salzburg concert 2010, Barenboim, Bruckner, Beethoven, Boulez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *