Hindemith: “Kammermusik”… and more…

This is a collection of Paul Hindemith’s music for several different solo instruments, accompanied by the chamber orchestra of the Berlin Philharmonic. The instruments are piano, cello, violin, viola, viola d’amore, and organ. Also included are the sonata for solo violin, and the sonata for ten instruments.

The selection and performer details are as follows:


  • Kammermusik No. 1 Op. 24 No. 1 für 12 Solo-Instrumente

Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 2 Op. 36 No. 1 Klavierkonzert

Lars Vogt (piano)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 3 Op. 36 No. 2 Cellokonzert

Georg Faust (cello)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 4 Op. 36 No. 3 Violinkonzert

Kolja Blacher (violin)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 5 Op. 36 No. 4 Bratschenkonzert

Wolfram Christ (viola)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 6 Op. 46 No. 1 Konzert für Viola d’amore

Wolfram Christ (viola d’amore)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Kammermusik No. 7 Op. 46 No. 2 Konzert für Orgel

Wayne Marshall (organ)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado

  • Sonata for Solo Violin, Op. 11 No. 6

Première of the complete version
Christian Tetzlaff (violin)

  • Sonata for 10 Instruments (fragment 1917)

Kornelia Brandkamp, Diemut Schneider, Ib Hausmann, Jochen Ubbelohde, Dag Jensen, Julia Fischer, Daniel Hope, Tatjana Masurenko, Alban Gerhardt & Rolf Jansen


Paul Hindemith (1895-1963) was a greatly misunderstood composer. The opinion during his lifetime was that his music is academic and lacking in humor but this is very far from the truth, as this set of his complete Kammermusik beautifully illustrates. The seven Kammermusik (Chamber Music) were written in the 1920’s and are the first works of Hindemith’s maturity, at a time when he had already established himself as one of the leading young composers in Germany.

Kammermusik No.1, written in 1921, reflects the composer’s earlier experience as a performer in dance bands and musical comedy orchestras; Nos.2-7 are all concertos, each for a different soloist and instrumentation, these have a marked resemblance to the Brandenburg Concertos of Bach.

Here is a video of Hindemith’s “Kleine Kammermusik Op. 24 movement 2” performed by the Berlin Counterpoint



And one more: P. Hindemith’s Kammermusik N. 5 first movement, with S. Braconi, viola, and W. Sawallich, conductor



Tags: Paul Hindemith, Kammermusik, Berlin Philharmonic, Abbado

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *