Barenboim as a Boy

Daniel Barenboim – Rare First Recordings (1955)

I am a huge admirer of Daniel Barenboim. He is a sensitive, articulate, and consummate musician. He is also a thoughtful and expressive person when it comes to topics that relate to the human condition.

We are lucky that Mr. Barenboim’s father insisted that his son continue to concentrate on his instrument (piano) even though pressure was being exerted on the young Barenboim to give up the instrument and concentrate solely on conducting.

In 2012 Daniel Barenboim will celebrate his 70th birthday. He began what has grown into his vast recording career as a young teenager, with these recordings, first issued in the early months of 1956, when the boy pianist was just 13 years old. The selections are as follows:

Bach, J C:

  • Harpsichord Sonata, Op. 17 No. 6 in B flat major


  • Intermezzo in C major, Op. 119 No. 3


  • Piano Sonatina in C major, Op. 13, No. 1


  • Capriccio in F sharp minor, Op. 5


  • Variations (12) on ‘Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman’ in C major, K265


  • Sonata in B flat major
  • Sonata in G major


  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 2 in A minor
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 3 in G major
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 24 in D minor
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 10 in C sharp minor
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 12 in G sharp minor
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 21 in B flat major
  • Prelude for piano, Op. 34 No. 5 in D major

Performed by Daniel Barenboim (piano)

These are beautiful performances of a wide range of music, from Bach to Shostakovich, and we get this complete collection of Daniel Barenboim’s first-ever recordings as a memento of his early years – recordings which have not been available now in any form for more than 40 years – and which all admirers of this great artists will wish to possess.

Here is BARENBOIM AT 14! He plays MENDELSSOHN Capriccio Op.5


Tags: Daniel Barenboim, 1955 recording, Bach, Brahms, Mozart, Shostakovich


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *