Mariss Jansons

New Year’s Concert 2012: Vienna Philharmonic – DVD

The annual New Year’s Day Concert in Vienna’s Musikverein hall has been an important tradition for more than seven decades, and the resulting recordings with works from the Strauss family, and their contemporaries are among classical music’s most important releases.

The music played at this concert included the following:


  • Danse Diabolique


  • Copenhagen Steam Railway Galop

Strauss, E:

  • Carmen-Quadrille, Op. 134

Strauss, J, I:

  • Sperl-Galopp, Op. 42
  • Radetsky March, Op. 228

Strauss, J, II:

  • Rathausball-Tänze (City Hall Ball Dances), Waltz, op. 438
  • Entweder – oder! (Either – Or!), Fast Polka, Op. 403
  • Tritsch-Tratsch Polka, Op. 214
  • Albion Polka, Op. 102
  • Freut euch des Lebens Waltz, Op. 340
  • Pizzicato Polka
  • Persischer Marsch, Op. 289
  • Unter Donner und Blitz, Op. 324
  • An der schönen, blauen Donau, Op. 314

Strauss, Josef:

  • Vaterländischer Marsch (Fatherland March)
  • Jockey Polka, Op. 278
  • Künstlergruß Polka-mazurka, Op. 274
  • Feuerfest (Fireproof), Op. 269
  • Brennende Liebe – Polka mazur, Op. 129
  • Delirien Waltz, Op. 212


  • Waltz from Sleeping Beauty, Op. 66


  • Walzer, Op. 419

Performed by the Vienna Philharmonic, conducted by Mariss Jansons

This recording includes a live version of the New Year’s Concert in Vienna, as well as the following bonus footage:

1. A special tour through Vienna, guided by members of the Vienna Philharmonic

2. Three ballet bonus tracks.

This program traditionally revolves around waltzes and polkas by the Strauss family (Johann Strauss, father and son, as well as Josef and Eduard Strauss). In 2012 the program was once again a skilful blend of well-known classics and six New Year’s Concert premieres.

Mariss Jansons said of this concert:

“It is something quite special: a wonderful opportunity to listen to this music and get to know it. This atmosphere, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Golden Hall of the Musikverein – all that adds up to a long and wonderful tradition resulting in fantastic, very specific music.”

Here is a video of almost an hour of the New Year’s Concert 2012 by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra


Tags: Vienna Philharmonic, 2012 New Year’s concert, Mariss Jansons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *