Mozart’s Winds

Mozart: Music for Wind Instruments

I recall distinctly a concert that I attended in London a long time ago where I heard music for winds by Mozart. And I remember how much loved it! Mozart was a master at weaving his melodies between the Oboe at the start of a piece, and then handing the on-going melodies to the clarinets, bassoons, flutes, etc.

If you love music for wind instruments, this album of 7 CD’s is for you.


  • Serenade (Sextet) for 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, 2 Bassoons and Double Bass in B flat major
  • Theme and Variations on ‘Unser dummer Pöbel’ for 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, 2 Bassoons and Double Bass in F major
  • Parthia KAnh C17.08
  • Serenade K370a “Gran Partita”
  • Wind Divertimento in B flat KAnh.227
  • Wind Divertimento in E flat KAhh.226
  • Divertimento No. 7 in B flat, K.deest
  • Duos (12) for 2 basset horns in C major, K487
  • Adagio in F major, K410
  • Adagio for 2 clarinets and 3 basset horns K411
  • Divertimento No. 6 in B flat, K.deest
  • Divertimento No. 1
  • Divertimento No. 2
  • Divertimento No. 3
  • Divertimento No. 4
  • Divertimento No. 5
  • Cassation for Oboe, Clarinet, Horn and Bassoon
  • Divertimento No. 16 In E Flat Major K289 For 2 Oboes, 2 Horns & 2 Bassoons
  • Divertimento in F, K253
  • Divertimento in B flat, K186
  • Divertimento in E flat, K166
  • Divertimento in B flat, K270
  • Divertimento in E flat, K252
  • Divertimento in B flat, K240
  • Divertimento in F major, K213
  • Serenade No. 12 in C minor, K388
  • Serenade No. 11 in E flat major, K375
  • Serenade No. 10 in B flat major, K361 ‘Gran Partita’

Performed by the Consortium Classicum

These works show the genius of Mozart, and many movements are truly sublime. One such example is the Adagio in the Serenade for thirteen wind instruments. Peter Shaffer in his film “Amadeus” chose this movement to give Salieri his first shattering experience of what glorious music his rival, Mozart, was capable of composing.

The Consortium Classicum, founded by Dieter Klöcker, recorded these works over a period of twelve years which is a similar number of years during which Mozart committed these works to manuscript.

Here is a different group, playing the MOZART wind SERENADE # 10 ~ LONDON WINDS ENSEMBLE /COLLINS ~ 3rd.Movement

And here’s another gem:

W. A. Mozart – Serenade for 8 Wind Instruments in E flat major KV 375 – Allegro Maestoso


Tags: Mozart, Music for Winds, Consortium Classicum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *