Russell’s Guitar

David Russell: The Grandeur of the Baroque

I just love baroque music as it is interpreted by guitar. David Russell’s latest recording features a collection of some of my favorite music from the baroque repertoire including five pieces by J. S. Bach, and suites by Handel, Francois Couperin, and lutenist composer Silvius Weiss.

Bach, J S:

  • Partita No. 6 in E minor, BWV830: Toccata
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 2 in C minor, BWV788
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 11 in G minor, BWV797
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 5 in E major, BWV791
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 6 in E major, BWV792

Couperin, F:

  • Pièces de clavecin IV: Ordre 26ème in F sharp minor


  • Keyboard Suite, HWV 432 in G minor

Weiss, S:

  • Suite No. XIV

Performed by David Russell (guitar)

Winner of the 2005 Grammy award for best instrumental soloist, guitarist David Russell is known for his excellent musicianship and inspired artistry. Since 1995, he has recorded 17 CD’s, among them the Grammy award – winning “Aire Latino”.

Named a Fellow of The Royal Academy of Music in London in 1997, Russell has also won the Medal of Honor from the Conservatory of the Balearics, along with numerous international competitions, including the Andrés Segovia Competition, the José Ramírez Competition and Spain’s prestigious Francisco Tárrega Competition.

• The Partita No. 6 in E minor (BWV 830) is one of Bach’s most introspective keyboard compositions, with an unusual Toccata, here expanded to incorporate a vast fugue.

• Sinfonia No. 11 recalls the dignified 18th-century Sarabande, a style Russell has recorded in various forms throughout his discography.

• Handel’s Suite No. 7 is filled with references to French music, including an overture inspired by the work of Jean-Baptiste Lully.

• The French theme also lends itself well to Vingt-Sixième Ordre from Book IV of Couperin’s Pièces de Clavecin.

• The final selection on the CD is a suite by Weiss which has been part of David Russel’s repertoire for many years.

Here is David Russell in Heitor Villa-Lobos Choro No.1



Tags: David Russell, guitar, Bach, Handel, Couperin, Weiss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *