Hilary’s Lark

Hilary Hahn

  • Elgar and Lark


  • Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 61

Vaughan Williams:

  • The Lark Ascending

Performed by Hilary Hahn (violin), with the London Symphony Orchestra, Colin Davis conducting

Track Listings

1. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 61: 1. Allegro
2. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 61: 2. Andante
3. Violin Concerto in B minor, Op. 61: 3. Allegro molto
4. The Lark Ascending, romance for violin & orchestra

Elgar’s violin concerto is in many ways one of the greatest violin concertos ever written; it is technically and emotionally very warm and satisfying. It was, I believe, Yehudi Menuhin who premiered this piece many years ago

Hilary Hahn’s tone is always smooth, her vibrato always beautiful, and she explores all the colors and intimacies of this music.

The Lark ascending is also an incredible composition. Ms. Hahn’s intonation is perfect, and I love her trills. This is a perfect piece in which the soloist might take more liberties and attempt more of a free style, to connect with the feelings that a Lark’s flight evokes.

Here is Hilary, talking about and playing some of this music:



And now, here’s another artist doing the same piece:



Feel free to post any of your reactions at the bottom of this post.

Tags: Hilary Hahn, Elgar violin concerto, Vaughan Williams, Lark Ascending

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *