Mattias Jacobsson

Mattias Jacobsson: Invocación

Guitarist Mattias Jacobsson has a new recording called “Invocación”, a unique perspective on the works of Francisco Tárrega, his inspiration Chopin, and his students Llobet and Pujol.

The selections on this CD are as follows:


  • Nocturne No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 9 No. 2
  • Prelude Op. 28 No. 15 in D flat major ‘Raindrop’

trans. Tárrega / Jacobsson


  • El Testament d’Amelia (Amelia’s Testament)
  • La cancó del lladre
  • El Noi de la Mare (The Mother’s Son)

Arr. Llobet / Jacobsson

Pujol, E:

  • Tonadilla
  • Three Spanish Pieces
  • Tango espagñol
  • Guajira


  • Capricho árabe
  • Recuerdos de la Alhambra
  • Endecha


  • Prelude No. 18 in D
  • Prelude No. 2 in A major


  • Mazurka in G
  • Sueno


  • Prelude No. 20 in C# minor (Chopin, trans. Tárrega)
  • Prelude No. 6 in G# minor (Chopin, trans. Tárrega)
  • Prelude No. 7 in D (Chopin, trans. Tárrega)
  • Mazurka No. 22 in F# minor (Chopin, trans. Tárrega)
  • Mazurka No. 25 in D minor (Chopin, trans. Tárrega / Jacobsson)

Performed by Mattias Jacobsson (guitar)

Guitarist Mattias Jacobsson invokes a guitar tradition originating with the influential Spanish composer Francisco Tárrega. The repertoire explores Tárrega’s influences and his legacy. We also hear music by Miguel Llobet and Emilio Pujol. Tárrega often turned to Chopin’s Preludes, Mazurkas and Nocturnes, and he transcribed these works for performance on guitar

Juilliard-trained Mattias Jacobsson was born in Stockholm and has studied with Göran Söllscher and Sharon Isbin, among others. He has performed throughout Europe and the United States, and has appeared on Spanish television, New York’s WQXR and National Public Radio’s Performance Today.

Here is “Capricho Árabe” by Francisco Tárrega as performed by Mattias Jacobsson



And next, here is Mattias Jacobsson performing “Guajira” by Emilio Pujol


Tags: Mattias Jacobsson, Guitar, Invocación

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *