Schiff’s Bach

J. S. Bach: Keyboard Concertos

Bach’s Keyboard Concertos with their amazing, contemplative slow movements, can be numbered among the greatest masterpieces of the Baroque era. Although based on existing violin or oboe concertos, and more commonly played on a harpsichord during Bach’s day, they can be counted as the first ever full-scale piano concertos.

The selections are:

Bach, J S:

  • Keyboard Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV1052
  • Keyboard Concerto No. 4 in A major, BWV1055
  • Keyboard Concerto No. 5 in F minor, BWV1056
  • Concerto for Two Keyboards in C minor, BMV1060

with Peter Serkin (piano)

Performed by András Schiff, piano, with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Andras Schiff displays great variety of touch, outstanding phrasing, and sensitivity to the harmonic tension in this music.

Here is the Bach: Piano Concerto No. 1, with Mr. Schiff, and the Berliner Philharmoniker



Here is Mr. Schiff in Bach’s Italian Concerto BWV 971


Finally, here is the J.S.Bach, Fugue D-Minor, BWV 903, performed by András Schiff


Tags: J. S. Bach, Keyboard Concerti, Andras Schiff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *