Khatia’s Chopin

Khatia Buniatishvili plays Chopin


  • Waltz No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 64 No. 2
  • Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 35 ‘Marche funèbre’
  • Ballade No. 4 in F minor, Op. 52
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21, with Orchestre de Paris, Paavo Järvi
  • Mazurka No. 13 in A minor, Op. 17 No. 4

Performed by Khatia Buniatishvili (piano)

A Liszt recital on Sony Classical last year was Khatia Buniatishvili’s  debut as a recording artist. After the great recognition of this first album, she is now following this up with an album that encompasses five works by Frédéric Chopin. This album marks her debut concerto recording with orchestra.

Khatia Buniatishvili has been described by The Independent as “the young Georgian firebrand”. At the age of only 24 years, this Tblisi-born pianist has already achieved an exceptional maturity of interpretation and a distinctive artistic approach that make her playing unmistakable.

This is a nice “mixture” of Chopin for solo piano as well as a recording of the concerto #2, and the sonata #2. One of my great favorites is the Ballade #4: Wonderful playing!

In the current season she is the “rising star” in Vienna at the Musikverein and Konzerthaus, is giving recitals in Berlin, Vienna, Amsterdam and Paris, as well as at London’s  Wigmore Hall, is a guest at the festivals in Schwetzingen, Lucerne and Verbier and is making her first appearances with the Munich Philharmonic and the San Francisco Symphony.

BBC Music Magazine:
“The most completely successful item on her enjoyable new Chopin disc is the stormy B flat minor Sonata…The young Georgian musician shows a remarkable command of her instrument and a volatility that may remind some of Martha Argerich. Yet Buntiahsvili’s is not an entirely coherent view of the first moment’s structure. She grasps the more straightforward trajectories of the remaining movements, delivering a gripping performance.”

Track Listings:
1. Warsaw – Paris, a short film conceived by and featuring Khatia Buniatishvili
2. Waltz in C-sharp minor, op. 64/2 – Tempo giusto
3. Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, op. 35 “Funeral March”; Grave – Doppio movimento
4. Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, op. 35 “Funeral March”; Scherzo
5. Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, op. 35 “Funeral March”; Marche funèbre: Lento
6. Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, op. 35 “Funeral March”; Finale: Presto
7. Ballade No.4 in F minor, op.52 – Andante con moto
8. Piano Concerto No. 2 for in F minor, op. 21; Maestoso
9. Piano Concerto No. 2 for in F minor, op. 21; Larghetto
10. Piano Concerto No. 2 for in F minor, op. 21; Allegro vivace
11. Mazurka in A minor, op.17/4 – Lento ma non troppo

Here are excerpts from pianist Khatia Buniatishvili’s performance of Beethoven’s Appassionata:



And next, I have for you Khatia Buniatishvili Performing the Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3



Finally, here she is at what appears to be a concert encore:


Tags: Khatia Buniatishvili, pianist, Chopin

One Response
  1. rroberta day Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *