• Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta & Concerto for Orchestra

The Hungarian composer Bela Bartok was a pioneer in the use of folk music in his creations. And in addition, he supplied some amazing new rhythms to be part of these new compositions.

On this CD, we get the following:


  • Music for Strings, Percussion & Celesta, BB 114, Sz. 106
  • Concerto for Orchestra, BB 123, Sz.116
  • Dance Suite, BB 86, Sz. 77

Performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Sir Georg Solti

Track Listings:

A. Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta
1. I. Introduzione (Andante non troppo Allegro vivace)
2. II. Giuoco della coppie (Allegretto scherzando)
3. III. Elegia (Andante, non troppo)
4. IV. Intermezzo interrotto (Allegretto)
5. V. Finale (Pesante Presto)

B. Concerto for Orchestra

6. I. Moderato
7. II. Allegro molto
8. III. Allegro vivace
9. IV. Molto tranquillo
10. V. Comodo
11. VI. Finale (Allegro)

C. Dance Suite

12. I. Andante tranquillo
13. II. Allegro
14. III. Adagio
15. IV. Allegro molto

Here is Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra with David Zinman, conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker:


And next, please listen to Bela Bartók’s Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, with Pierre Boulez conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker:


Tags: Bela Bartok, Music for Strings Percussion and Celesta, Concerto for Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *