Brahms quintets

Brahms: Quintets Opp. 34 & 115

On this CD, the Tokyo String Quartet is joined by pianist Jon Nakamatsu and clarinetist Jon Manasse in two Brahms masterpieces dating from two very different periods in his life.

The amazing Piano Quintet, Op.34 is the work of Johannes Brahms as a young man, and the Clarinet Quintet Op.115, a masterpiece by an experienced composer. The journey between these two milestones was one of creation of works such as the German Requiem, four major symphonies, countless choral works, songs, as well as works for violin, piano and Cello.


  • Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
  • Jon Nakamatsu (piano)
  • Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115
  • Jon Manasse (clarinet)

Performed by the Tokyo String Quartet

Here are the track listings on this CD:

Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115

  • Allegro
  • Adagio
  • Andantino
  • Con Moto

Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34

  • Allegro Non Troppo
  • Andante, Un Poco Adagio
  • Scherzo: Allegro
  • Finale: Poco Sostenuto, Allegro Non Troppo

Here is the Guarneri string Quartet with David Shifrin, Clarinet, in the Brahms Clarinet Quintet:


And next, here is Rashkovskiy Ilya performing the Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34 with the Ariel String Quartet at the Arthur Rubinstein Piano Master Competition, May 2011 in Tel Aviv:



Tags: Brahms, Quintets, Nakamatsu, Manasse, Tokyo string quartet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *