Cello magic

Daniel Müller – Schott plays Britten & Prokofiev

The Symphony for Cello and Orchestra was composed by Benjamin Britten for the ailing cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. This composition features a great interplay between the cello soloist and the orchestra.

In the WDR Symphony Orchestra of Cologne under its principal conductor, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Daniel Müller Schott has found an orchestral partner capable of bringing out the thematic structure of the work, including its interesting climaxes.

The same is true of Prokofiev’s Symphony-Concerto in E minor for cello and orchestra, which Rostropovich originally introduced to international audiences.

Particularly captivating is the great range of contrasts in all three movements of the piece, which begins by striking a single note reminiscent of the sound world of Prokofiev’s ballet ‘Romeo and Juliet’ and ending in a set of variations of the final movement, which ends in a playful dance.

The two selections on this CD are:


  • Symphony for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 68


  • Sinfonia Concertante in E minor for cello & orchestra, Op. 125

Performed by Daniel Müller Schott, cello, with the WDR Köln, conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste

Daniel Müller-Schott follows in his mentor’s footsteps, by demonstrating his command of every register of his instrument, and mastering the difficult intervals with ease. As a student of Anne – Sophie Mutter, he’s added an amazing second mentor to his list.

The individual movements are:

Prokofiev: Sinfonia Concertante in E minor for cello & orchestra, Op. 125

  • Andante
  • Allegro
  • Andante con moto – Allegretto – Allegro marcato

Britten: Symphony for cello and orchestra, Op. 68

  • Allegro maestoso
  • Presto inquieto
  • Adagio – Cadenza ad lib
  • Passacaglia: Andante allegro


Here is Daniel Müller – Schott in highlights of this CD:




And next, here’s Daniel Müller-Schott playing the Dvorak Cello Concerto B minor op. 104:


And finally, here’s one of my favorite works: the Brahms double concerto, as performed by Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin, and Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello, with the Münchner Philharmoniker



Tags: Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello, Britten, Prokofiev

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *