Gabetta’s Elgar

Elgar: Cello Concerto

Playing an instrument is a long, hard journey. One has to have the patience for long hours of practice; and also the ability to overcome difficulties, disappointments, and to persevere.

In my view, there’s one additional vital quality that a performer must have, and that is *passion*.

I see Ms. Sol Gabetta as just such an artist. Just listen to her play her Cello, and the passion is self-evident!

On this CD, we hear the following:


  • Waldesruhe (Silent woods) for cello and orchestra, Op. 68 No. 5
  • Rondo in G minor for cello & orchestra, Op. 94, B. 181


  • Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
  • Sospiri, Op. 70
  • Salut d’amour, Op. 12
  • La Capricieuse, Op. 17


  • Adagio con variazioni for cello and orchestra

Performed by Sol Gabetta (cello), with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Mario Venzago
The award – winning Argentinian cellist Sol Gabetta focuses her impressive abilities on the Romantic cello repertoire in her latest release.

Gabetta’s terrific live recording of the Elgar Cello Concerto is the center piece of this amazing new album from one of classical music’s most thrilling and successful young stars.

In addition to Elgar’s concerto, Ms. Gabetta’s new release features three of Elgar’s miniatures, the introspective “Sospiri” and the light-hearted, romantic salon pieces “Salut d’amour” and “La capricieuse”, in new arrangements for cello and orchestra.

The album also includes Antonín Dvorák’s “Waldesruh” and “Rondo”; and we also get to hear Ottorino Respighi’s rarely recorded “Adagio con variazioni”.

Ms. Gabetta gives a marvelous, lyrical, passionate performance using that beautiful “singing” cello tone which makes her work so distinctive.

Here is Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto in E minor op. 85 – Sol Gabetta



And here’s Sol Gabetta, playing the last movement of the Elgar Concerto:



Tags: Sol Gabetta, Cellist, Elgar, Dvorak, Respighi, Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *