Sudbin’s new CD

Yevgeny Sudbin plays Liszt, Ravel & Saint-Saëns

This new album by pianist Yevgeny Sudbin combines works by Liszt, Ravel and Saint-Saëns.

Personally, I have never really connected emotionally with the music of Franz Liszt. There are some common themes in the music on this CD:

‘Funérailles’ is Liszt’s remembrance of his Hungarian countrymen who died in the 1849 uprising against the Austria-Hungary Habsburg Rule. Death also appears in Ravel’s ‘Gaspard de la Nuit’. The program closes with Saint-Saëns’ “Danse macabre”.

The specific selections are as follows:


  • Funérailles (Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, S. 173 No. 7)
  • Transcendental Study, S139 No. 10 ‘Appassionata’
  • Transcendental Study, S139 No. 11 ‘Harmonies du soir’
  • Sonetto 47 del Petrarca (Années de pèlerinage II, S. 161 No. 4)
  • Sonetto 104 del Petrarca (Années de pèlerinage II, S. 161 No. 5)
  • Sonetto 123 del Petrarca (Années de pèlerinage II, S. 161 No. 6)


  • Gaspard de la Nuit


  • Danse macabre, Op. 40

Based on the transcription by Franz Liszt

Performed by Yevgeny Sudbin, piano
Yevgeny Sudbin has received a lot of praise for his many recordings. I also recall hearing him in a live concert about a year ago and I enjoyed his playing a lot. His CD of music by Scriabin was described in BBC Music Magazine as being ‘as terrifyingly changeable and emotionally all-engulfing as the music itself’.

Here is Yevgeny Sudbin in Ravels “Ondine” from “Gaspard de la Nuit”



And here is ‘Danse Macabre’, performed by Yevgeny Sudbin



Tags: Yevgeny Sudbin, Liszt, Ravel, Danse macabre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *