Andsnes’ Chopin


  • The 3 Piano Sonatas

Leif Ove Andsnes is one fine pianist. I really like his clarity of style, his rhythmic precision, and his musical energy.

Andsnes’ performances of these Chopin sonatas are filled with excitement, intensity, and terrific expressiveness. I love to listen to these sonatas because the playing isn’t overly sentimental like many other Chopin recordings.

The selections are as follows:


  • Piano Sonata No. 1 in C minor, Op. 4
  • Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 35 ‘Marche funèbre’
  • Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58

Performed by Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Mr. Andsnes has the ability to play with an emotional simplicity, and to illuminate Chopin’s music in the most natural, direct way.

Here is the Chopin Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 35 performed by Leif Ove Andsnes:



And next, he plays the Chopin Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58:



Tags: Leif Ove Andsnes, Chopin, Sonatas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *