Tchaikovsky’s third

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 3 and Coronation March

This is a recent release in the Tchaikovsky Symphonies cycle by the Russian National Orchestra conducted by its Music Director Mikhail Pletnev. The whole series has been critically acclaimed, and this one will also be eagerly awaited by collectors of the series.

Tchaikovsky wrote this symphony in a five-movement score that is more like a ballet suite. Three of the movements are basically in the same tempo, and few conductors are successful in making them feel different in mood. But Pletnev’s approach works very well, and his affection for this work is clearly evident.


  • Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 29 ‘Polish’
  • Coronation March

Performed by the Russian National Orchestra, conducted by Mikhail Pletnev

Pletnev doesn’t try to excessively dramatize this music but keeps it within the light, buoyant style of the dance, and he does so quite elegantly. Unfortunately I could not locate a video of Pletnev’s performance. Instead–

Here is a video of the P. I. Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 3 in D major, op. 29 with Valery Gergiev conducting:



And here is the same conductor, performing the same music with the Dutch Radio Philharmonic Orchestra:


Tags: Tchaikovsky, Symphony #3, Mikhail Pletnev, Russian National Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *