Shaham’s Mozart Sonatas

Mozart – Violin Sonatas

Early this morning, I listened to the sonatas for violin and piano by Mozart. Great way to start the last day of 2012!

Please click on any of these sonatas in my Spotify playlist “Hank’s Mozart violin” and you’ll surely enjoy this music!



Mozart’s six sonatas for keyboard and violin (K.301-06) were written in 1778, and I played some of these myself over the years, with many different pianists.

And I have unforgettable experience of taking a special trip to New York City six years ago, just to attend a concert where all of Mozart’s violin sonatas were performed by Anne-Sophie Mutter at 3 concerts at Carnegie Hall.

On this fine recording we get the following:


  • Violin Sonata No. 18 in G major, K301
  • Violin Sonata No. 21 in E minor, K304
  • Violin Sonata No. 19 in E flat major, K302
  • Violin Sonata No. 20 in C major, K303
  • Violin Sonata No. 22 in A major, K305
  • Violin Sonata No. 23 in D major, K306

Performed by Gil Shaham (violin) and Orli Shaham (piano)

In this DVD we hear these K.301-306 sonatas played by violinist Gil Shaham and his sister, pianist Orli Shaham, recorded in a beautifully decorated room at the Palais Daun-Kinsky, in Vienna.

Mr. Shaham and his sister, Orli, are both extraordinarily sensitive players; The pianissimo sections of these compositions are really amazing! These performances are terrific, and they show us the composer at his best, and the two performers at their best, as well.

The BBC Music Magazine wrote:

“The venue, the early 18th-century Palais Daun-Kinsky in Vienna, is opulent in appearance, and opulent in sound as well… the Shahams… have clearly worked out exactly what they want to do with phrasing, rubato and dynamics, and play with complete unanimity. No extras, commentary, or documentary – just Mozart.”

Here are Gil Shaham and his sister, Orli Shaham, playing the Mozart Sonata in E flat major, K.302:


And next, here is the second movement of the same sonata in E flat major, K.302 – II. Rondeau, Andante grazioso :


Finally, here’s the Mozart Sonata in D major, K.306 I. Allegro con spirito:


Tags: Mozart, violin and piano sonatas, Orli Shaham, Gil Shaham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *