Brentano quartet


  • The Late String Quartets Op. 135 and Op. 132

Founded in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet of New York is recognized for its performances that combine excellent technique with amazing musicality. Their previous CD was devoted to Beethoven’s late quartet Op. 131.

Benefiting from this first success, these same musicians are now continuing the undertaking with Beethoven’s Op. 135 and 132.

On this CD, we hear the following:


  • String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132
  • String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135

Performed by the Brentano String Quartet

The Brentano players are:
• Misha Amory, viola
• Serena Canin, violin
• Nina Lee, Cello
• Mark Steinberg, Violin

These quartets by Beethoven set a marker for the music that followed for the following century. He gives us music that struggles with the complexities of our inner lives, in full acknowledgement of our loss and suffering. Through the transformative power of his art, Beethoven leads us to the end, which recognizes beauty, power, and faith.

Here is the Brentano Quartet, performing the Beethoven: Quartet in B flat, Op. 130:



And next, here they are in the Beethoven quartet Op. 133, “Grosse Fuge”



Tags: Brentano String quartet, Beethoven, Quartets Op. 135 and Op. 132

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *