Guy Braunstein

Max Bruch:

  • Scottish Fantasy and Violin Concerto No. 1

When young musicians become successful, I always feel a sense of thrill. And I recall the day when I learned that Guy Braunstein, originally from Israel, became the concertmaster of the Berlin Philharmonic orchestra. What amazing news that was!

I have been delighted with the performances of Guy Braunstein. I recall hearing him play the Brahms concerto with the Berlin Philharmonic, and the results were terrific. (See video below.)

In 2013, however, he will step down from the concertmaster position he took on in 2000, and he will dedicate himself to his solo concert career. His extraordinary musicianship has been recognized equally as a soloist, a chamber musician and, more recently, he has enjoyed a considerable success as a conductor.

On this CD, we hear Guy Braunstein perform the following:


  • Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46
  • Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26
  • Romance for viola & orchestra/piano, Op. 85

Performed by Guy Braunstein (violin), with the Bamberger Symphoniker, conducted by Ion Marin

Mr. Braunstein has collaborated with musicians such as Zubin Mehta, Issac Stern, Claudio Abbado, Yefim Bronfman, Sir Simon Rattle, Emanuel Ax, SemyonBychkov, Maurizio Pollini, Andris Nelsons, Lang Lang, and Hélène Grimaud among others. He also has a special working relationship with Daniel Barenboim both as a soloist and in recital.

Guy Braunstein plays a rare violin made by Francesco Ruggeri (Cremona, 1679).

Here are the track titles for these works by Max Bruch:

1. Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46: I. Introduction: Grave –

2. Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46: I. Adagio cantabile

3. Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46: II. Allegro – Adagio

4. Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46: III. Andante sostenuto

5. Scottish Fantasy, Op. 46: IV. Finale: Allegro guerriero

6. Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26: I. Prelude: Allegro moderato

7. Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26: II. Adagio

8. Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26: III. Finale: Allegro energico

9. Romanze in F major, Op. 85 (arr. G. Braunstein for violin and orchestra)

Here is Guy Braunstein in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1, with Semyon Bychkov conducting the Berlin Philharmonic



And next, here is Mr. Braunstein in the Brahms Violin with Andris Nelsons, conducting the Berliner



And finally, let’s end with the Saint Saens – “Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso” op.28



Tags: Guy Braunstein, Concert master, violin, Max Bruch

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *