Mahler’s Tenth

Gustav Mahler:

  • Das klagende Lied
  • Blumine
  • Adagio of the 10th Symphony

When Mahler’s composition “Das klagende Lied” finally met with his own approval, he said, “My first work in which I have found myself as ‘Mahler’!” On this CD it is heard in contrast to the Adagio from his last symphony and the so-called  “Blumine” Andante movement originally intended for the first symphony, but later removed.

Gustav Mahler and the painter Gustav Klimt were contemporary artists. So it is appropriate that Klimt’s famous painting is on the cover of this CD, as shown on the photo on the left.

This CD gives us the following music:


  • Das klagende Lied

Performed by Manuela Uhl (soprano), Lioba Braun (alto), and Werner Gura (tenor), with the Czech Philhamonic Chorus Brno

  • Symphony No. 10 in F sharp major – Adagio
  • The “Blunine” movement

Performed by the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, conducted by Stefan Blunier

The Beethoven Orchestra of Bonn under its resourceful conductor Stefan Blunier is in top form on this fascinatingly detailed look at Mahler’s compositional techniques.

Here is Mahler’s Adagio from the Symphony No. 10, with Claudio Abbado conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker:



And next, here is Mahler’s “Das Klagende Lied”, with Pierre Boulez conducting, from a Salzburg concert in 2011:



Tags: Gustav Mahler, Das Klagende Lied, Symphony #10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *