Andris Nelsons.

Andris Nelsons conducts:

  • From the New World

On this DVD we have recordings “From the New World”: a concert featuring Dvořák’s iconic Symphony No. 9 alongside works by Ives, Adams and Stravinsky.

The concert is performed by the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Andris Nelsons

The selections are as follows:

Adams, J:

  • Slonimsky’s Earbox


  • Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 ‘From the New World’

Ives, C:

  • The Unanswered Question


  • Le Chant du Rossignol

Andris Nelsons, Music Director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, is – in my view – a very capable conductor. I find his performances to be enthusiastic, exciting, and sensitive.

He has appeared at Covent Garden in London, the Metropolitan Opera in New York, the Bayreuth Festival, and the Wiener Staatsoper. He has also performed with the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Wiener Philharmoniker.

Germany’s Stuttgarter Zeitung wrote:

“One rarely experiences such a natural connection between conductor and orchestra…Andris Nelsons and the Bavarian Radio Orchestra are a sensation!”

Here is a video of Andris Nelsons leading a performance of the Dvorak ‘New World Symphony’:



And next, here he is conducting the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Stravinsky’s Petrouchka:



Tags: Andris Nelsons, Dvorak, Stravinsky, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra