Lana Trotovšek.

Schubert, Brahms, Bloch and Gershwin:

  • Music for Violin and Piano

This CD introduced me to an artist who was unknown to me previously. In the process of learning about Lana Trotovšek, I came to admire her playing of the works of Bach. These works appear as videos below.

Violinist Lana Trotovšek debuted with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra in September 2012 with Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1. She is receiving excellent reviews internationally. For this interesting recording she is joined by her chamber music partner, Yoko Misumi, in the following selections:

Bloch, E:

  • Baal Shem


  • Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108


  • Concert Fantasy on Themes from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, Op. 19


  • Sonatina in A minor, D385 (Op. posth. 137 No. 2)

Performed by Lana Trotovsek (violin), and Yoko Misumi (piano)

The track listings are as follows:

  • 1. Schubert Sonata for violin and piano in A minor, D 385
  • 2. Brahms Sonata for violin and piano in D minor, Op. 108
  • 3. Ernst Bloch: ‘Baal Shem’ (Three Pictures of Hassidic Life)
  • 4. Frolov: Concert Fantasy on Themes from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess

Here is Lana Trotovsek performing the beautiful “Adagio” from Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonata for Solo Violin No.1 in G minor BWV 1001:



And next, here is J.S.BACH’s Fugue from the Violin Sonata in G minor:



And finally, here’s something composed much later than the Bach we just heard: The ‘Romanian Dances’ by Bela Bartok, as played by Lana Trotovsek (violin):



Tags: Lana Trotovšek, violin, Schubert, Baal Shem, Ernst Bloch, Gershwin