Music of Schubert.

Franz Schubert:

  • The last two piano sonatas, D. 959 and D. 960

Austrian composer Franz Schubert was facing the end of his life at age 31, and both of these sonatas reflect the seriousness of that period. Paul Lewis examines the depths of feelings that Schubert explored in these two compositions.

In the sonata D959 the lovely Andantino is really sensitive, sad, and exquisite. It is as though Franz Schubert is speaking directly to me. And in the sonata D 960, the Andante Sostenuto is equally moving.

Track Listings:

Schubert: Sonata D. 959

1. Allegro
2. Andantino
3. Scherzo Allegro Vivace – Trio Un Pocco Piu Lento
4. Rondo Allegretto

Schubert: Sonata D. 960

5. Molto Moderato
6. Andante Sostenuto
7. Scherzo Allegro Vivace Con Delicatezza – Trio
8. Allegro, Ma Non Troppo

The playing on this recording is simply amazing.

Performed by British pianist, Paul Lewis

If you are in New York City, you can enjoy a live concert by Mr. Lewis, who plays Mozart at Avery Fischer Hall on August 5 and August 6, 2013.

Here is Paul Lewis playing Franz Schubert’s Piano Sonata No.21 in B-flat Major D. 960; first movement:


And next, here is the Andantino movement of Franz Schubert’s Piano Sonata No. 20 in A Major, D. 959:



Tags: Paul Lewis, pianist, Schubert, sonatas