• Tango!

This DVD features a video of the studio performance of several of Argentinean composer Astor Piazzolla’s most popular pieces, including Verano Porteno, Oblivion, and Libertango.

Accompanied by a special documentary, ‘Music from the Heart’, which presents interviews with ensemble members and behind-the-scenes footage of the studio recording process.

We get to hear the following:


  • Escualo
  • Invierno Porteño
  • Tristeza de un doble A
  • Michelangelo 70
  • Contrabajissimo
  • Libertango
  • Tangata
  • Tanti anni prima (‘Ave Maria’)
  • Concierto para Quinteto

Performed by Isabelle van Keulen (violin), Christian Gerber (bandoneon), Ulrike Payer (piano), and Rüdiger Ludwig (double bass)

The Isabelle van Keulen Ensemble was formed in January 2011 by the critically acclaimed Dutch violinist and violist Isabelle van Keulen especially for a series of concerts in Haarlem’s Concertgebouw, which showcased the music of Astor Piazzolla.

Here is the Trailer of the film and documentary ‘Tango!’



And next here is Astor Piazzolla’s ‘Libertango’: (with dancers!)



Tags: Tango, Astor Piazzola, Isabelle van Keulen