Arleen Auger.

Joseph Haydn:

  • Lieder (Songs)

Performed by Arleen Augér (soprano) and Walter Olbertz (piano)

The art form that became known as the Lied (German = song) may not have been a prominent feature of Haydn’s creative output, but his collections of songs for solo voice have nevertheless retained their appeal to this day.
This recording presents a selection of these charming works, drawing special attention to the two stages of development into which they are divided:

While the first set, written in the 1780’s, center around witty content, the second set, composed in the following decade, highlight what one newspaper described as Haydn’s ‘sophisticated popularity’ and they reveal an influence of folk songs through their rhapsodic flavor.

Accompanied by Walter Olbertz and performing these works is one of the greatest artists of the past century, the late acclaimed soprano Arleen Augér.

The recording is testament to what the late American singer did best: her exceptional command of the Lied, which became an increasingly important part of her later career.

This CD contains notes on the music, a biography of Ms. Augér and the sung texts.

Here are the Lieder titles:

1. Die Verlassene
2. An Thyrsis
3. Lachet Nicht, Mädchen
4. Jeder Meint, Der Gegenstand
5. Liebeslied
6. Trachten Will Ich Nicht Auf Erden
7. Beim Schmerz, Der Dieses Herz Durchwühlet
8. The Mermaid’s Song
9. Pleasing Pain
10. A Pastoral Song
11. The Wanderer
12. The Spirit’s Song
13. O Tuneful Voice

Here is a wonderful video that will show you Ms. Auger’s mastery: Arleen Auger sings “Morgen” by Richard Strauss:



And next, here is Arleen Auger in “Abendempfindung” (Evening feelings) by Mozart:



Tags: Arleen Auger, Haydn, Strauss, Mozart