Bruckner’s Symphonies.


  • Symphonies Nos. 4, 7, and 8

Bruckner’s works demand long lines and a dark, dense tone color from the orchestra – a sound that the Bavarian State Orchestra has always possessed, owing in particular to its long involvement with the music of Wagner. At the same time, Kent Nagano brings out the architecture of Bruckner’s monumental pieces with skill and intelligence.

We get to hear the following:


  • Symphony No. 4 in Eb Major ‘Romantic’
  • Symphony No. 7 in E Major
  • Symphony No. 8 in C minor

Performed by the Bavarian State Orchestra, conducted by Kent Nagano

The Bavarian State Orchestra is one of the oldest orchestras in the world, with a long and rich tradition. Its origins can be traced back to 1523. The orchestra began playing opera as early as 1653. In 1811, the Musical Academy was founded, the oldest series of symphonic concerts in Munich.

The symphonic sound of the Bavarian State Orchestra has been molded by this long history and the kind of emotional playing demanded of an opera orchestra. Its uniquely warm and expressive musical style reflects the centuries spent playing the operatic works of Mozart, Wagner, Strauss and many other composers.

The orchestra’s conductors have always recognized these special qualities. When Kent Nagano took up the position of Bavarian General Music Director in 2006, one of his main goals was to continue this tradition, while at the same time developing it into the future.

Here is KENT NAGANO conducting the Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 8 in C minor:


And next, here is Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4 in E flat major “Romantic”, as performed by the Münchner Philharmoniker conducted by Sergiu Celibidache (It takes a fine Horn player!!)



Finally, here is the Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 7 in E Major, with the Münchner Philharmoniker conducted by Sergiu Celibidache:



Tags: Anton Bruckner, Celibidache, Kent Nagano, symphonies