Roussel’s Piano Music

  Albert Roussel:

  • Piano Music Vol. 1

French composer Albert Roussel created a unique style in his music, and he remains one of the most intriguing of the French composers. Roussel loved to travel to remote, interesting places, and some of these travel impressions are reflected in his music. In this first of three volumes of his complete piano music, we can hear his originality as early as the Sonatine, Op. 16, composed in 1912, where fantasy and interesting colors are prominent.

On this CD, we hear the following selections: Roussel:

  • Sonatine, Op. 16
  • Le Marchand de sable qui passe, Op. 13
  • 3 Pieces, Op. 49
  • Prélude et Fugue, Op. 46
  • Doute
  • Petit canon perpétuel
  • L’accueil des muses
  • Segovia for guitar, Op. 29
  • Conte à la poupée

Performed by Jean-Pierre Armengaud, piano.

The second selection titled “Le Marchand de sable qui passé”, Op. 13 (The Sandman) is incidental music written for a verse play where the influence of Debussy and Wagner can sometimes be felt.

Roussel’s last creative phase, represented by “Trois Pièces”, Op. 49, reveals his incisive wit, rhythmic vitality and jazzy style.

Here is Albert Roussel’s Divertissement Op. 6 as performed by the Berlin Counterpoint:  


And next, here are “Pièces pour piano” (Op. 46 amd Op. 49). These clearly show the diversity of Albert Roussel’s compositional style: