Soprano Christiane Karg.


Christiane Karg sings:

  • Songs by Strauss, Fauré, Debussy, and Poulenc

The London debut by German soprano Christiane Karg in July, 2012 proved a highlight of the summer’s song recital series.

A regular guest at the leading opera houses, singing roles from Musetta (La Bohème) to Poppea (L’incoronazione di Poppea), she is also renowned throughout the world for her wonderful performances on the concert platform.

On this recording, we get to hear the following:


  • Sieben frühe Lieder


  • Green (No. 5 from Ariettes Oubliées)
  • Spleen (No. 6 from Ariettes Oubliées)


  • Nell, Op. 18 No. 1
  • Les roses d’Ispahan Op. 39 No. 4
  • La rose Op. 51 No. 4


  • Fleurs

Strauss, R:

  • Die erwachte Rose, TrV 90, AV 66
  • Rote Rosen, AV76
  • Mädchenblumen (4 songs), Op. 22
  • Die Nacht, Op. 10 No. 3
  • Traum durch die Dämmerung, Op. 29 No. 1
  • Weißer Jasmin, Op 31 No 3

Wolf, H:

  • Verschwiegene Liebe (No. 3 from Eichendorff-Lieder)
  • Die Nacht (No. 19 from Eichendorff-Lieder)
  • Unfall (No. 15 from Eichendorff-Lieder)
  • Nachtzauber (No. 8 from Eichendorff-Lieder)

Performed by Christiane Karg (soprano) & Malcolm Martineau (piano)

This recital features two themes to link the program together: A botanical theme in the first half, and a nocturnal theme in the second.

Exploring celebrated jewels of the art song repertoire alongside lesser-known, but equally charming works, the program moves from rarely heard floral songs from Richard Strauss’ teens, through dreamy ones by Fauré, Debussy and Poulenc, mysterious and nocturnal Lieder of Wolf to Berg’s ‘Sieben frühe Lieder’.

BBC Music Magazine, January 2014 wrote the following:

“[Karg] has a natural ease with tempo, underpinned, of course, by Martineau as the ever-perfect foil at the piano…[the voice] is fresh and clear. She is certainly not lacking in honeyed warmth in the Strauss songs…a thoroughly enjoyable recital.”

Here is Richard Strauss’ Ständchen, op. 17, Nr. 2 performed beautifully by Christiane Karg, with Malcolm Martineau, piano:



And next, here is an interview with Christiane Karg as she discusses her approach to music and some of the experiences, which shaped her early career:



Finally, here is Christiane Karg, as she sings “Wir genießen die himmlischen Freuden” from the Symphony #4 by Gustav Mahler:



Tags: Christiane Karg, Strauss, Fauré, Debussy, Poulenc, Mahler