Julia’s Magic.


Julia Fischer:

Spanish composer Pablo de Sarasate was born in 1844 and began to play the violin at the age of five. Later on he composed violin pieces that have become staples in the concert repertoire, where violinists perform these as demonstrations of their technical and musical capabilities.

On this recording, Violinist Julia Fischer gives us a collection of Sarasate’s creations. Titles of each track follow:


  • Danza Española No. 7: Vito, Op. 26, No. 1
  • Danza Española No. 8: Habanera, Op. 26, No. 2
  • Jota Aragonesa, Op. 27
  • Sérénade andalouse, Op. 28
  • El canto del ruiseñor, Op. 29
  • Danza Española No. 1: Malagueña, Op. 21, No. 1
  • Danza Española No. 2: Habanera, Op. 21, No. 2
  • Danza Española No. 3: Romanza Andaluza, Op. 22, No. 1
  • Danza Española No. 4: Jota Navarra, Op. 22, No. 2
  • Danza Española No. 5: Playera Op. 23 No. 1
  • Danza Española No. 6: Zapateado, Op. 23, No. 2
  • Caprice Basque, Op. 24

Performed by Julia Fischer (violin)

On the last key track is Sarasate’s most celebrated composition: “Zigeunerweisen” (‘Gypsy Airs’). With its heady Hungarian rhythms and folk flavor, it is best known as a showpiece for violin and orchestra, but Fischer and her long-standing accompanist Milana Chernyavska present it here as it was originally written, for violin and piano.

Ms. Fischer is one amazing musician and violinist. She has total control of her instrument and seems totally involved and committed to her performances.

Sarasate’s contemporaries held him in extremely high regard, with Camille Saint-Saëns, Max Bruch and Édouard Lalo all dedicating works to him.

Here is Julia Fischer performing the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E Minor:



And next, here she is in Paganini’s 24 caprices:



Tags: Julia Fischer, Pable de Sarasate, Paganini, Mendelssohn