Lise’s Ravel.


Ravel and Rachmaninov

  • Piano Works performed by Lise de la Salle

I have enjoyed to follow the playing of pianist Lise de la Salle over the years. It started with my being astounded how Lise, as a young person, brought such mature feelings to the music of J. S. Bach. Later, other composers emerged. Now we get this new recording of music by Rachmaninov and Ravel.

We get to listen to the following selections:


  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 1 in C minor
  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 33 No. 2 in C major
  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 2 in A minor
  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 33 No. 6 in E flat minor (published as No. 3)
  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 33 No. 9 in C sharp minor (published as No. 6)


  • Sonatine
  • Miroirs, 5 pieces for piano

Performed by Lise de la Salle (piano)

The Guardian wrote recently:

“Everything about De la Salle’s playing is astonishingly mature; technical challenges are met and never highlighted and she is always intent on seeking out the poetry beneath the teeming surfaces. This is distinguished piano playing.”

Here is the Rachmaninov Prelude Op. 23 No. 7, beautifully played by Lise de La Salle:



And next, here is Lise de la Salle playing the music of Bach:


Finally, here she is in the Chopin Piano Concerto No.2, second Movement, played somewhat slower than most pianist and highly expressive:



Tags: Lise de la Salle, pianist, Rachmaninov, Ravel