Symphony concert Review.


Detroit Symphony:

  • Concert review.

On Saturday, Feb. 22nd, Houston Symphony conductor laureate Hans Graf conducted the Detroit Symphony in Dvořák’s Symphony No. 6, and violinist Benjamin Schmid performed Erich Wolfgang Korngold‘s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra.

The concert program included the following:

WEBERN: ‘Im Sommerwind’
KORNGOLD: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
DVORÁK: Symphony No. 6

I listened primarily to the violin concerto, wanting to get a better sense of Mr. Schmid’s capabilities.

The concerto itself is a “marriage” between Viennese/Czech music and American music. Korngold was born in the Czech Republic, yet he spent many years in the US, composing music for the movies. In the past 15 years or so, his music has become better known and more respected in US concert halls.

Korngold died in Hollywood in 1957.

This was the first time that I have heard Benjamin Schmidt perform any concerto. He is clearly a strong performer, with excellent training and a sensitive playing style.

The Finale of the concerto is a bit repetitive in its melodies. It is also a mad dash to the end. At one point it looked to me like the soloist actually lost his way for a second or two, but he rescued the whole journey, and piece ended with a lot of audience appreciation.

Here is Hilary Hahn playing Korngold’s Violin Concerto, the first movement:


And next, here is Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35, with Leonidas Kavakos, violin, and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Hugh Wolff, conductor:



Tags: Concert review, Detroit Symphony, Benjamin Schmid, violin, Hans Graf