Pike’s Sibelius.



  • Violin Concerto

Jean Sibelius is perhaps best known for his seven great symphonies but there is also a large body of music for the concert hall, some of which is explored on this release.

We get to enjoy the following selections:


  • Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47, performed by Jennifer Pike (violin).
  • Finlandia, Op. 26
  • Valse lyrique, Op. 96a
  • Valse Triste, Op. 44 No. 1

Performed by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir Andrew Davis conducting.

The Violin Concerto in D minor, Sibelius’s only full-length concerto, combines brilliant writing for the solo instrument with the seriousness characteristic of the symphonies. This concerto is both a dramatic and a deeply romantic work.

“The Swan of Tuonela” comes from the suite of four Legends, inspired by traditional Finnish myths. In it, the majestic motion of the swan is evoked by the arching phrases of the English Horn. Also featured are two well-known shorter works indelibly linked with Finnish music and culture.

“Finlandia” became a national emblem of the Finnish struggle for independence from Russia while “Andante festive” is a staple of Finnish public occasions. The “Karelia Suite” is another patriotic composition, the rough-hewn character of its three movements intended to evoke a folk-like authenticity.

Sir Andrew Davis continues his relationship with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, and he is joined in the Violin Concerto by Jennifer Pike, one of the brightest young violinists performing today.

Here is violinist Jennifer Pike playing an extract from Vaughan Williams’ “The Lark Ascending”:



And next, here is Jennifer Pike in the Bach Solo Partita No. 2 in D Minor, “Chaconne”:



Tags: Jennifer Pike, violin, Sibelius violin concerto, Andrew Davis, Finlandia, Karelia, The Swan of Tuonela