Takács plays Brahms.


Brahms: String Quintets.

The Takács Quartet is one of music’s most distinguished ensembles. Here they collaborate with one of Britain’s well-known viola players, Lawrence Power, who adds his capabilities to produce a fine reading of these Brahms masterpieces.

We hear the following:


  • String Quintet No. 1 in F major, Op. 88
  • String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111

Performed by the Takács Quartet, with Lawrence Power (viola)

The Guardian wrote:

‘It was in the G major string quintet … that the Takács players again hit special heights, achieving near-miracles of balance and interplay and with Geraldine Walther and guest Lawrence Power delivering a master class of contrasting but complementary viola playing’

And the Sunday Times, on the 6th of April 2014 wrote:

“These fine performances make a strong case for them.”

Here is the magical Quintet Op. 111 by Brahms:

On this video we hear the following artists:

Vilde Frang, I violin, Elina Vähälä, II violin, Vladimir Bukac, I viola, Yuval Gotlibovich, II viola, and Jian Wang, cello.


And next, here is the Johannes Brahms: String Quintet Op.88:


Tags: Takacs Quartet, Brahms Quintets, Lawrence Power, viola