Violist Dana Zemtsov.


Dana Zemtsov.

  • Enigma: Works for solo viola

There are several reasons why I wanted to explore this recording further:

One: I love the sound of the viola.

Two: I wanted to learn more about Dana Zemtsov.

Three: Unlike other stringed instruments, the viola repertoire hasn’t been very thoroughly explored, but this collection contains some of the most challenging viola works, as listed below:

Bach, J S:

  • Chromatic Fantasia & Fugue in D minor, BWV903, transcription: Zoltán Kodály/Michael Kugel.


  • Sonata for Solo Viola, Op. 25 No. 1


  • Recitative & Scherzo Caprice, Op. 6


  • Sonata-Poème
  • Prelude-Ysaÿe


  • Cadenza for solo viola


  • Elegy, for solo viola


  • Capriccio in C Minor, ‘Hommage à Paganini,’ Op. 55

Performed by Dana Zemtsov (viola)

On this CD, Dana Zemtsov takes the listener to a world of warm, deeply touching sounds. However, I would warn the listener that the music goes beyond lyrical melodies with which the Viola is so often associated. Instead, there are also the sounds of war, intense cries of despair, and tears of sorrow.

Winner of numerous competitions and developing an outstanding career, Dana Zemtsov (b. 1992) is one of the most promising international viola soloists of her generation.

Dana is the First Prize winner of several competitions in Luxemburg, Italy, Austria, Germany, Portugal and the Netherlands. In 2010 she won the Dutch Television competition ‘Evening of the Young Musician’ becoming the ‘Young Musician of the Year’ and representing The Netherlands at the Eurovision Young Musicians Competition in Vienna.

Dana Zemtsov was born in 1992 in Mexico City. She comes from a family of musicians. At the age of 5 she received her first music lessons from her grandmother and from her parents, both viola players, Mikhail Zemtsov and Julia Dinerstein.

Here is a video of Dana Zemtsov at the Dutch Classical Talent Tour & Award of 2013/2014:



And next, here is Dana Zemtsov (age 14) playing the viola sonata by Rebecca Clarke, first movement:



Finally, here is Dana Zemtsov playing Michael Kugel’s “Prelude – Ysaye” from this recording. What a fine range of dramatic and warm sounds she produces in this piece!



Tags: Dana Zemtsov, Viola, Bach, Hindemith, Kreisler