W. F. Bach.


W. F. Bach:

  • Sinfonias.

The eldest son of Johann Sebastian Bach, Wilhelm Friedemann Bach, was very possibly the most gifted of Bach’s children. Trained by his father, he cultivated a highly sensitive and impressive musical language, as well as a bold and inventive style that was far ahead of his time.

On this CD, we get to hear an amazing collection of Wilhelm Friedemann Bach’s music, as listed below:

Bach, J S:

  • Orchestral Suite No. 5 in G minor, BWV1070

Bach, W F:

  • Sinfonia in F major, F. 67 ‘Dissonant’
  • Ertont, ihr seligen Volker, F. 88: Sinfonia
  • Sinfonia in D minor, F. 65 ‘Adagio & Fugue’
  • Sinfonia in D major, F. 64
  • Wo geht die Lebensreise hin?, F. 91: Sinfonia
  • O Wunder, wer kann dieses fassen?, F. 92: Sinfonia

Performed by the Kammerorchester CPE Bach, conducted by Hartmut Haenchen

Mr. Haenchen explains that much of W. F. Bach’s output had been destroyed or lost over the years. This disc includes three world premiere recordings of sinfonias from Wilhelm Friedemann’s cantatas, reconstructed and arranged by Haenchen after meticulous research into the whereabouts and condition of the original manuscripts.

The works recorded here are a showcase for W. F. Bach’s crisp style, and the variety of musical idioms that he employs. The “Dissonant” Sinfonia and the Sinfonia from the cantata Fk88, for example, demonstrate an unprecedented approach to harmony and counterpoint, while the Sinfonia from Fk92 is more subtle and restrained, reminiscent of C. P. E. Bach’s early Berlin Symphonies, but with a far more sophisticated harmonic structure.

Here is the W. F. Bach – Sinfonia in D minor F 65, beautifully performed by the Jeune Orchestre Atlantique, with Conductor Stéphanie-Marie Degand:



And next, here is the Wilhelm Friedemann Bach Sinfonie F-Major:



Tags: Wilhelm Friedemann Bach, Sinfonias, Cantatas, Kammerorchester CPE Bach, Hartmut Haenchen