Yuja Wang event.


San Francisco Concert.


Davies Symphony Hall;
 201 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco.


  • Thu, May 22, 2014 at 8:00pm
  • Fri, May 23, 2014 at 8:00pm
  • Sat, May 24, 2014 at 8:00pm
  • Sun, May 25, 2014 at 2:00pm


Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor, and 
Yuja Wang, piano, with the
 San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.
The Program:

  • Fauré Pavane, Opus 50
  • Schubert Entr’acte No. 3 in B-flat major from Rosamunde, D.797
  • Grieg The Last Spring, Opus 34, no.2
  • Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat major, Opus 10
  • Litolff Scherzo from Concerto symphonique No. 4 in D minor, Opus 102
  • Debussy Images

These SF Symphony performances feature a so-called ‘salon style’ sampling of short pieces chosen to showcase the Orchestra’s virtuosity. Each one reveals different facets of the orchestra, highlighting the quality of the different sections and the sensitivity and artistry of solo players in the ensemble.

Debussy’s great orchestral piece called “Images” concludes the program.

Here is Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.3, with Yuja Wang and the late conductor, Claudio Abbado:




I was unable to locate a video of the first piano concerto, so—instead – here is Yuja Wang in the Prokofiev piano concerto No. 2:


Tags: Yuja Wang, Concert, San Francisco Symphony, Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 1, Faure, Schubert, Grieg