Concert from Berlin.


Gala From Berlin:

  • “Grand Finales”.

This DVD recording presents an interesting program in which the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra celebrated the final day of the 20th Century.

In the first part of the concert we get to hear the final movements (“Finales”) from symphonies by Beethoven, Dvorak, Mahler and others.

Then in the second part, the orchestra leaps into the 21st Century with an explosion of sparkling music pieces by such composers as Ravel, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, and more.

Here’s the list of music we hear:


  • Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92: Allegro con brio


  • Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88: IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Fischer, Ernst:

  • Sparkling Champagne

Kollo, Walter:

  • Solang noch unter’n Linden


  • Grigri: Overture

Folies Bergères: March


Berliner Luft March


  • Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor (V: Rondo-Finale: Allegro)

Nicolai, C O:


  • Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: Alexander’s entry into Pskov



  • Gurrelieder: finale; Klaus Maria Brandauer (narrator)


  • The Firebird – excerpts


  • Sportpalast-Walzer

Performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker, Rias Kammerchor and the Rundfunkchor Berlin, Claudio Abbado conducting.

This is a true celebration to welcome in the new millennium with one of the best orchestras in the world!
Here is a sample:

And here is the Beethoven Symphony No. 7, second movement (not the Finale), with Abbado leading the Berliner Philharmoniker:



And one more: The complete recording of the Mahler’s Symphony No.5, with Claudio Abbado conducting the Lucerne Festival Orchestra:



Tags: Grand Finale, Beethoven, Dvorak, Mahler, Stravinsky, Schoenberg, Ravel