Alisa Weilerstein.


Alisa Weilerstein – Solo Cello.

American cellist Alisa Weilerstein became well-known because of her virtuosic playing, technical precision, and strong musicianship. The intensity of her playing has regularly been applauded, as have the spontaneity and warm tone of her interpretations.

On this CD, we get to hear Ms. Weilerstein in some newer pieces, which enhance the existing Cello repertoire. The selections are:


  • Suite for Solo Cello

Osvaldo Golijov:

  • Omaramor

Zoltan Kodály:

  • Sonata for Solo Cello, Op. 8


  • Seven Tunes Heard in China

Performed by Alisa Weilerstein, cello.

The Track Listings are:

Cassadó: Suite for solo Cello.

1. I. Allegro maestoso ma appassionato
2. II. Adagio con gran espressione
3. III. Allegro molto vivace

Osvaldo Golijov:
4. Omaramor

Zoltan Kodaly: Sonata for Cello

5. I. Preludio-Fantasia a Zarabanda
6. II. Sardana
7. III. Intermezzo e Danza Finale a Jota

Bright Sheng:

8. Seasons
9. Guessing Song
10. Little Cabbage
11. The Drunken Fisherman
12. Diu Diu Dong
13. Pastoral Ballade
14. Tibetan Dance

Here is Ms. Weilestein in Zoltan Kodaly Sonata for Solo Cello Op. 8.



And next, here is Alisa Weilerstein in Golijov’s “Omaramor”:




Let me end with something older:


Alisa Weilerstein, cello, and Ilan Rechtman, piano, perform the wonderful Brahms E – minor cello sonata no. 1, Op. 38:



Tags: Alisa Weilerstein, Cello, Solo, Golijov, Zoltan Kodaly, Gaspar Cassado, Bright Sheng